PowerPoint Tips Blog

Helping you with presenting, PowerPoint, and speaking

  • Home
  • Blog
  • Tips
  • E-Store
  • Training
  • About
  • Affiliates
  • Advertise
  • Contact
Home » remove background

New Remove Background options in PowerPoint

June 15, 2026 by Ellen Finkelstein 1 Comment

Microsoft is actively working to make the user interface and features of PowerPoint easier to use. This is good news!

One new feature is the Edit Picture dialog box.

With a selected image, you get to it by clicking the Picture Format tab and then choosing the Edit Picture icon.

However, two of the features in the Edit Picture dialog box have their own icons: Remove Background and Erase.

Here is the full Edit Picture dialog box…

[Read more…]

Filed Under: Design, Images Tagged With: Design, Edit Picture, graphics, images, photos, remove background

Add your own sketch to a slide

September 7, 2011 by Ellen Finkelstein 4 Comments

One of the techniques that Carmen Taran mentioned in her Outstanding Presentations Workshop 2011 presentation, that can help you create more authentic slides, is to hand-sketch a diagram or image on a piece of paper, scan it, and add it as an image to a presentation.

Here’s an example:

Here are the steps:

  1. Sketch something on a piece of paper.
  2. Scan it to an image format.
  3. Insert the image onto a slide (Insert>Picture).
  4. Click the Format tab, then click Color in the Adjust group. Choose one of the settings that works for your slide. In this situation, I needed the color of the sketch’s paper to be different from the white background of the slide, so I chose an option that gave the picture’s background a yellowish tinge.
  5. Add a shadow to give the effect of the paper being slightly off the slide. Choose Picture Effects> Shadow on the Format tab. (In 2003, choose Shadow from the Picture toolbar.) Choose one of the options. In 2007/2010, I suggest then choosing Picture Effects> Shadow again, then Shadow Options to open the Format Picture dialog box, with the Shadow category displayed. You can almost always play with the settings to get a more striking shadow effect.
  6. If you want, add a pushpin. Choose Insert> Clip Art and search for pushpin. I used PowerPoint 2010’s Remove Background feature to eliminate the background.

Filed Under: Images Tagged With: images, insert image, remove background, scan, shadows, sketch

Remove an image background in PowerPoint

June 24, 2010 by Ellen Finkelstein 12 Comments

One of the features of PowerPoint 2010 and later is the ability to remove the background of an image. This is different from making one color in the background transparent, which you can do in earlier versions. (I describe that process in a tip, “Cool contour shadows.”)

PowerPoint 2010 lets you specify which parts of the image you want to keep or discard. It doesn’t always work perfectly, but for the right image — usually one with clear outlines — it’s a great tool.

Watch how it works.

     

Filed Under: Images Tagged With: background, images, isolate image, isolate photo, PowerPoint, remove background

Free Video Training!

13 Techniques that Will Make Designing Your Slides EASY!

And get the PowerPoint Tips Newsletter with tips and resources for presenters. Plus 5 bonus tips!

BirdSend Email Marketing Tool

PresenterMedia

1-on-1 Presentation Coaching

Recent Posts

Recent Posts:

Recent Posts

  • New SmartArt layouts, including numbered lists and Meet the Team options
  • New Remove Background options in PowerPoint
  • Managing complex backgrounds
  • Creating images with AI: The end of stock photo sites?
  • Format multiple headshots for consistency

Connect with me!

Connect with me on LinkedIn!


Search the site:

Search the site:

Ellen Finkelstein, Inc. · Fairfield, IA · Tel: 515-989-1832

Privacy, Refund, and Other Legal Stuff