PowerPoint Tips Blog

Helping you with presenting, PowerPoint, and speaking

  • Home
  • Blog
  • Tips
  • E-Store
  • Training
  • About
  • Affiliates
  • Advertise
  • Contact
Home » color

Create a mood or duotone look in PowerPoint

August 18, 2018 by Ellen Finkelstein Leave a Comment

powerpoint-tips-mode-duotone-4

powerpoint-tips-mode-duotone-4Color can have a powerful effect on your audience. While you need to be cognizant that colors mean different things in different cultures, you can use color to influence your audience’s mood and feeling about your message.

Or you can just create a fun feeling with one color or indicate a change in mood by transitioning from one color to another.

Duotones — photos that display 2 colors — are very much in vogue these days.

Here are some examples using a 2-tone semi-transparent overlay:

powerpoint-tips-mood-colored-overlays-1

Here are 2 more examples using a more difficult technique that colorizes parts of one image with 2 different colors.

powerpoint-tips-mood-duotone-3

These types of slide will always stand out.

Semi-transparent gradient overlay

The first set of slides use a semi-transparent gradient overlay. For these slides, I used the Title Only layout. Here are the steps:

  1. Insert an image.powerpoint-tips-mood-colored-overlays-2
  2. To crop it for a widescreen slide, on the Format tab, click the down arrow at the bottom of the Crop button and choose Aspect Ratio, 16:9. Then click off the slide to finish the crop.
  3. Right-click the image and choose Send to Back so that you see the slide title.
  4. Optional: To make the colors on the overlay clearer, make the image grayscale. On the Picture Tools Format tab, choose Color, then Saturation: 0% under Color Saturation.
  5. From the Home tab, click the Rectangle shape in the Drawing group and drag it across the slide to cover the entire slide.
  6. Right-click the rectangle and choose Send to Back, Send Backward to move it behind the slide title but keep it in front of the image.
  7. Right-click the rectangle again and choose Format Shape.
  8. If necessary to display the fill options, click the Fill & Line icon (a bucket) and expand the Fill section by clicking its right-facing arrow.
  9. Choose Gradient Fill. You’ll see the last-used gradient. Lower down, for the purpose of these steps, drag off all but 2 of the stops on the Gradient Bar.
  10. Click one of the stops, click Color (below the Gradient Bar) and choose one of the colors or click More Colors for the full range of possibilities.
  11. Use the Transparency bar or the text box to its right to set the desired transparency. I used about 50%.
  12. Click the other stop and choose its color and transparency.
  13. Add your text, making sure it stands out from the colors of the overlay.

Here’s an example shown larger…

powerpoint-tips-mode-duotone-5

Colorize parts of one image with 2 different colors

You can colorize photos in PowerPoint and with a little sleight of hand, you can color one part of a photo with one color and another part with a different color. You’ll need to find a photo with distinct sections.

Follow these steps:

  1. Insert the photo and make a duplicate of it. Decide which parts of the photo you want to be which color. For one photo, you’ll use the Remove Background feature to remove everything except the part you want in your second color and you’ll put it on top of the first photo.  So for the photo of the woman with the megaphone, for one of the copies, I removed everything except the megaphone.
  2. Select the duplicate and choose Format Tab, Remove Background. (You can see a video tutorial  about removing an image background here.)
  3. Click Mark Areas to Remove on the Remove Background tab and drag across all of the areas of the photo that you want to remove. In my example, it was everything except the megaphone.
  4. When you’re done, choose Keep Changes.
  5. With the photo still selected, on the Format tab, choose Color and choose a color in the Recolor Section. You can choose More Variations, then More Colors to use any color you want.
  6. Select the second photo and colorize it with the second color.
  7. Place the first photo on top of the second photo so it matches exactly.

You’ll now see a photo colorized with 2 different colors. I also placed the 3 blue petals on top of the text and box.

powerpoint-tips-mode-duotone-6

If you want to learn simple design principles for non-designers…

slide design-non-designers-250x 340…then you’ll love Slide Design for Non-Designers, updated for PowerPoint 2016/365.

Learn easy principles and techniques that designers use. If you need to create high-impact, professional-looking slides but aren’t a designer, this e-book will show you, step-by-step, how to easily get the results you want. Plus bonuses:

  • Theme, template, and sample slides/presentation
  • Rule of thirds measurements for widescreen slides
  • 5 short video tutorials to make implementing the principles easy!

Check it out here

Filed Under: Backgrounds & color, Images, Shapes & text boxes Tagged With: color, colored overlays, create a mood, duotone, emotion, mood, overlay, semi-transparent overlays

Congratulations to the winner of the “Highlight one part of an image in color” contest!

October 17, 2011 by Ellen Finkelstein Leave a Comment

powerpoint_tips-color-grayscale-effect-contest

Congratulations to Rae Drysdale for the winning entry in the contest. I received several excellent entries, but Rae’s choice of photo made the color really stand out! The photo’s movement is also striking.

powerpoint_tips-color-grayscale-effect-contest

If you missed the original post explaining how to create this effect, you can see it here.

Filed Under: Contests Tagged With: black & white, color, grayscale, highlight

Highlight one part of an image in color

September 25, 2011 by Ellen Finkelstein 4 Comments

powerpoint-tips-highlight-part-of-image-in-color

Highlighting a part of a grayscale image in color really makes it stand out!

powerpoint-tips-highlight-part-of-image-in-color

Here are the steps:

  1. Find a photo that you want to use and insert it.
  2. Select the photo, then copy and paste it to duplicate it.
  3. Select the original photo and choose Format tab> Color and choose the first swatch (Saturation 0%) to make the photo grayscale.
  4. Now select the copy, and go to Format tab>Remove Background. I have a video tutorial here. Use the buttons to remove everything that you want to be grayscale. Keep everything that you want to remain in color. (Tip: Zoom in to more precisely choose what you want to keep and what you want to remove.)
  5. Move the copy exactly on top of the grayscale version.
  6. For ease of use, select both photos and group them (Ctrl + G).

Instead of making the original photo grayscale, you can apply other effects, such as blurring or other effects from the Artistic Effects drop-down list. Ric Bretschneider wrote a blog post a while back that uses a similar technique to create a blurred background.

Filed Under: Backgrounds & color, Contests, Images Tagged With: background, color, image, photo

Find colors for your PowerPoint color scheme (theme colors) with Adobe kuler

April 18, 2009 by Ellen Finkelstein 1 Comment

An important first step in creating a new presentation, one not based on any previous presentation, is to decide on your colors. In PowerPoint 2003, these are called the color scheme. In PowerPoint 2007, these are called the theme colors.

See the related tips below for some ideas on how to choose colors. But even when you have an idea of which colors you want, it can be hard to put together a set of colors that look good together and that you think will have the desired effect.

Enter Adobe kuler, a site devoted to color schemes.

kuler color themes for PowerPoint

Kuler is an Adobe-supported collection of color themes. People upload color themes they’ve created, visitors rate them, and anyone can access them.

On the left, you can view color themes by Newest, Most Popular, Highest Rated, and Random. Click the small left and right arrows at the bottom of the list of color themes to scroll to the next group. When you register, you can view the color stats, add comments, and create and upload your own color themes.

Adobe has its own color theme file format, but PowerPoint can’t use it. Instead, click the Make Changes to This Theme and View Color Values button.

PowerPoint color themes & theme colors

This button takes you to a page where you can adjust the colors on a color wheel by dragging the circles for each color. You can also see the stats in several formats. For PowerPoint, write down the RGB stats for each color.

RGB colors stats for PowerPoint color schemes/theme colors

My tip, “Try design variations,” provides instructions on creating a color theme in PowerPoint 2003 and theme colors in PowerPoint 2007. You’ll use your RGB color stats in this process.

Richard Garber reminded me that it’s good to check your color themes to make sure that colorblind people can distinguish the colors. You can put them in several objects on a slide, select the objects, right-click, and choose Save as Picture. Then, upload the picture to Vischeck, a site that lets you see how the colors will look to someone with three kinds of colorblindness.

    Filed Under: Backgrounds & color Tagged With: color, color scheme, PowerPoint, theme colors

    Choose fonts and colors for legibility

    July 10, 2002 by Ellen Finkelstein Leave a Comment

    Solomon Schneider, a faculty member at Sam Houston State University, in Huntsville, Texas, sent me some guidelines for choosing fonts and color to get the highest text legibility.

    Color

    Medium-colored text + medium-colored background = low legibility. To obtain the best legibility, choose either a very light font on a very dark background or vice versa.

    He explains how the familiar color wheel works. (When specifying a font color or shape fill, you get here by choosing More Colors and then clicking the Standard tab of the Colors dialog box. Here it is:

    Standard tab of the Colors dialog box

    Standard tab of the Colors dialog box

    Sol says, “On that color wheel my definition of Very Light is ‘Snow White’ in the center and the Six Dwarfs touching Snow White. Everything outside that first ring of six hexagons is medium until you reach the outermost two rings. All the Very dark colors are on the last two rows furthest from Snow White, although NOT every color swatch on those last two rows is dark.”

    He notes, “By my count, 7 very light fonts on up to 35 very dark backgrounds gives 235 high contrast color schemes. Double 235 to cover very dark fonts on a very light background.” So he comes up with a total of 470 legible color combinations.

    He adds that “when the audience can’t read text instantly, they quit trying.”

    Fonts

    Sol provides 5 principles for fonts in PowerPoint:

    1. Wide kerning (the spacing to the left and right of every letter). For example, Verdana has much better kerning than Arial does, as you can see below.
    2. kerning comparison of fonts

      kerning comparison of fonts

    3. At least 28 point text for the slide body for large conference rooms (up to 50 feet).
    4. Sans Serif font, like Comic Sans MS, or Verdana..
    5. NO or minimal font special effects. Absolutely no Shadow font (looks like the projector is not focused). Ever read a book in ALL CAPS? Underlining and Italics are fine for words, not sentences. But the most readable effects are COLOR and BOLD. Avoid the rest.
    6. Many of the Design Templates use medium shades and text with a fuzzy Shadow effect. Don’t use them as a guide to good design.

    Filed Under: Backgrounds & color, Text & fonts Tagged With: audience, background, color, fonts, PowerPoint

    Next Page »

    Free Video Training!

    13 Techniques that Will Make Designing Your Slides EASY!

    And get the PowerPoint Tips Newsletter with tips and resources for presenters. Plus 5 bonus tips!

    BirdSend Email Marketing Tool

    PresenterMedia

    1-on-1 Presentation Coaching

    Recent Posts

    Recent Posts:

    Recent Posts

    • New SmartArt layouts, including numbered lists and Meet the Team options
    • New Remove Background options in PowerPoint
    • Managing complex backgrounds
    • Creating images with AI: The end of stock photo sites?
    • Format multiple headshots for consistency

    Connect with me!

    Connect with me on LinkedIn!


    Search the site:

    Search the site:

    Ellen Finkelstein, Inc. · Fairfield, IA · Tel: 515-989-1832

    Privacy, Refund, and Other Legal Stuff