PowerPoint Tips Blog

Helping you with presenting, PowerPoint, and speaking

  • Home
  • Blog
  • Tips
  • E-Store
  • Training
  • About
  • Affiliates
  • Advertise
  • Contact
Home » Create your own graphics and icons for PowerPoint: Part II–Creating line art from scratch

Create your own graphics and icons for PowerPoint: Part II–Creating line art from scratch

November 28, 2011 by Ellen Finkelstein 3 Comments

READ LATER - DOWNLOAD THIS POST AS PDF >> CLICK HERE <<

In a previous post, “Create your own graphics and icons for PowerPoint: Part I–Using clip art,” I showed how you can ungroup line art in PowerPoint’s clip art gallery and then modify it.

But sometimes, you can’t find clip art that meets your needs and you need to create the art from scratch. If PowerPoint’s drawing tools won’t work for you, you can use other programs. The most common one would probably be Adobe Illustrator. If you don’t have that, I recommend a free, open-source program called Inkscape.

Here’s a wave shape that I created using the pen tool in Inkscape. It’s possible to draw this in PowerPoint, but sometimes Illustrator’s or Inkscape’s tools are easier to use. The Pen tool is especially useful, because you can create closed shapes with it that you can then fill in PowerPoint.

creeate your own graphics for PowerPoint

The secret is to save your drawing in WMF or EMF format. (Note: When I tried to save in WMF format in Inkscape, I got an error, but EMF was fine.) Here are the steps:

  1. In Inkscape, choose File> Save As and choose EMF from the Save as Type drop-down list.  In Illustrator, choose File> Export and choose EMF or WMF from the Format drop-down list. For both, then name and save your drawing.
  2. In PowerPoint, choose Insert> Picture and open the image.
  3. Right-click and choose Group>Ungroup.
  4. Click Yes at the message asking if you want to convert the image to a Microsoft Office drawing object.
  5. Ungroup a second time.
  6. Delete the rectangle that borders the drawing. (It’s invisible, but you can see its handles when it’s selected.)

Here is the Inkscape drawing in PowerPoint.

Because it’s a vector image (line art), you can resize it without losing resolution. Here’s I’ve stretched the waves to fill up the entire width of the slide and added a slight gradient. I’ve also removed the border. As you can see, it’s easy to create custom graphics!

Try it! Let me know how it goes.

Share
Tweet
Share1
0 Shares
READ LATER - DOWNLOAD THIS POST AS PDF >> CLICK HERE <<

Related posts:

  1. Create your own graphics and icons for PowerPoint: Part I–Using clip art
  2. Importing art into the clip gallery
  3. Icons are hot now — how to get, make, and use icons
  4. Create clear, iconic illustrations in PowerPoint with (gasp!) clip art

Filed Under: Images Tagged With: EMF, graphics, images, WMF

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
guest
3 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Stephanie
Stephanie
14 years ago

Thanks Ellen! I’ve been combing the web the entire day for just this -only to realize that this isn’t doable on a Mac, argh! But so good to finally realize that I wasn’t going crazy. Thanks again – to the PC I go!

0
Ellen
Ellen
14 years ago
Reply to  Stephanie

I’m sorry I can’t offer tips for the Mac, too, but I don’t have one.

0
Holly Genser
Holly Genser
13 years ago

Ellen,

This is fantastic! I’ve wanted to do this in my documents and presentations for too long!

Holly

0
wpdiscuz   wpDiscuz

Free Video Training!

13 Techniques that Will Make Designing Your Slides EASY!

And get the PowerPoint Tips Newsletter with tips and resources for presenters. Plus 5 bonus tips!

BirdSend Email Marketing Tool

PresenterMedia

1-on-1 Presentation Coaching

Recent Posts

Recent Posts:

Recent Posts

  • New SmartArt layouts, including numbered lists and Meet the Team options
  • New Remove Background options in PowerPoint
  • Managing complex backgrounds
  • Creating images with AI: The end of stock photo sites?
  • Format multiple headshots for consistency

Connect with me!

Connect with me on LinkedIn!


Search the site:

Search the site:

Ellen Finkelstein, Inc. · Fairfield, IA · Tel: 515-989-1832

Privacy, Refund, and Other Legal Stuff

wpDiscuz